District Executive

The District Executive Committee exists to support the District Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of their appointment and to ensure that the District complies with the rules of the National Scout Movement and the Charities Commission.

The Committee is elected each year at the District AGM and is supported by a number of Sub-Committees that cover areas including Finance, Premises and Awards & Recognition. A full list can be found below.

Ex-officio members (have a role on the Committee due to their role in Scouting)

Stuart Sutton
District Chair
Lee Curtis
District Commissioner
Melissa Jones
District Secretary
Julian Rowley
District Treasurer
Clare Amass
District Explorer Scout Commissioner
Luke Cashin
District Network Commissioner
District Youth Commissioner

Nominated members (nominated by District Commissioner and District Chairman)

Cllr James Hunt
Vice Chair
Phyl Gunn
Guide Association representative

Elected members (elected at the District AGM)

Josh Barton
18-25 representative
Di Sprowles
Group Scout Leader representative


John Baxter
Appointments (AAC) Chair
Julian Rowley
Finance Chair
Tara Clayton
Communications Chair
Richard Willgoss
Awards Advisory Group Chair
Dave Floyd
Premises and Health & Safety Chair
Scouting provides a second family to lots of young people. It’s a safe place where they can aspire and grow.'
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls